Skip to content

Novel Talk With Author Angie Fox

April 14, 2009

Happy Fourth of July!!! OK, OK, I’m late! Shock *gasp* I know! To tell the truth, I slept through all the fireworks and missed out on the big party, so it’s no surprise I’ve forgotten to wish everyone a Happy and Safe one. So I hope everyone had a most excellent day. Although, after my small hiatus here, I figured I needed to do something HUGE to celebrate. And have I ever found the reason to celebrate! You know I love the debut author, always have, always will, and today I get to introduce you to debut author Angie Fox and her book The Accidental Demon Slayer, that I’m super excited about. In fact, I’m so excited that I’ve decided to make a week of it! So to kick things off today, Angie has written a guest blog for you, and she introduces a contest at the end. Be sure to read the blog, then my note at the end for even more chances at goodies and all the details!

They say you learn something new with each book you write, but I think I learned a little too much with this last one. The Accidental Demon Slayer is about a straight-laced preschool teacher forced to hit the road with a gang of geriatric biker witches. The idea made me smile. In theory. In reality, though, I’d never met any bikers and the toughest thing I’d ridden was my pink Huffy back in grade school. It had flames down the side.

Yes, I know. I’m easy to impress. I’m also easy to distract. As I wrote the book, I forgot about bikers for a bit and I found myself liking the heroine’s dog. I hadn’t even planned on him in the beginning, but when the heroine learns she’s a demon slayer and all hell is after her, she takes comfort in her dog. It was a sweet moment. And as I wrote it, I thought, ‘How do I throw her off?’

I made Pirate, the dog say something to my heroine. Nothing big. After all, he’s only after the fettuccine from last week. And he knows exactly where she can find it (back of the fridge, to the left of the lettuce crisper, behind the mustard). It amused me, so I did it. Thanks to her unholy powers, Lizzie can now understand her smart-mouthed Jack Russell Terrier. I ended up having a ball with it, and I fell in love with Pirate the dog. Then I realized I was writing about Harley riding biker witches.

How do you get a dog on a motorcycle?

Well, I went online and learned that there is a nationwide club of Harley bikers who ride with their dogs. So my heroine could have her pink motorcycle, and her Jack Russell Terrier too.

And of course I had to meet these Harley riding dog lovers. I called up a few of the members of the Biker Dogs Motorcycle Club and the adventure began. They invited me into their homes, introduced me to their dogs and, like my heroine, the bikers hoisted me up on the back of a Harley, with a dog in tow.

So just when I thought I was writing fiction, it seemed my made-up characters from The Accidental Demon Slayer weren’t so imaginary after all. One of the bikers I met even has a wife who is a biker witch. I’m wondering if she, like my heroine’s biker witch grandma, wears a “kiss my asphalt” t-shirt and carries a carpet bag full of Smuckers jars filled with magic. Maybe I’ll find out on my next adventure.

Now it’s your turn. Tell us a road trip story (longest trip, most obnoxious, most fun) and you’re entered to win an autographed copy of The Accidental Demon Slayer!


Take Care

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

